Spock’s Jellyfish Ship

I’m falling behind on my model reviews, so I’ve got a bit of catching up to do. There are plenty of regular issues that need my attention, but I’m putting them aside for the moment to review the latest special edition, the Jellyfish. This is a return to the first Kelvin-verse movie, showcasing the odd Vulcan design unlike no other Vulcan ship. It’s a small, strangely organic design with tentacle-like fins and components, hence the name. Its actual Vulcan designated name is never given, Jellyfish being the nickname used by the designers during the making of the film.

img_20161222_201018

The ship consists of several sections – a large truncated, curved section and nestled within is the spherical hull the contains the dangerous red matter. Protruding from the back of this is a long bifurcated tail with two flat fins and surrounded by two large curved tentacles. It’s a hard ship to describe! I’ve also had some trouble identifying which parts of the model are metal. There is certainly a large amount of plastic in used here but there is a reasonable weight to it that makes me feel there is some somewhere, possibly the panels inside the double tail. I’m not sure though, it may just be the weight of all that plastic. Nevertheless the construction is very good with some good design decisions. For example the forward view window and its surrounding panel is a separate piece to the main forward section. This means the join the runs along the front of the ship doesn’t spoil this important detail. Most of the model is made of two very large pieces which is impressive considering the complex structure. Yes, the forward hull, sphere, tentacles and tail are formed to two pieces only which is a great idea that ensures there are barely any joins and those that are are well hidden.

img_20161222_201406

Now generally alien ships lack the level of detail of the Federation ships and the Jellyfish suffers from a similar problem. I imagine this is to give non-human designed ships an air of mystery, which the Jellyfish has in spades. There is so much in this design that makes you wonder ‘why?’ What is the purpose of the tail and the tentacles? Why does the ship need to be so ‘spinny’ when its flying about? So whilst there are plenty of mysteries here the detailing is a bit disappointing. I am pleased to see a blue transparent component tucked away almost unnoticed inside the tail, but other areas are less satisfying. Take the back of the main hull, this is totally plain grey with no decor and the worst joins on the model. I’m also not a big fan of the mottled green hull patterning. It’s a decent attempt at the ship’s organic design but it comes off looking a bit plasticly and faux-leather, like the interior of a cheap car from the eighties.

img_20161222_201123

  • Detailing: 3/5 – Ok, but not great. A very hard ship to accurately reproduce
  • Construction: 4/5 – Very well made, but perhaps no metal in this model
  • Ship design: 4/5 – Fascinating and unusual design
  • Overall: 3/5 – Almost a four, but doesn’t quite make the cut

img_20161222_201239

A couple of further thoughts from me. The stand is not great. It hold the ships in place, but tends to let the model point slightly downwards as I could never push it firmly enough into place. You may notice this in the pictures. Further, the magazine predominantly covers the ship’s design. As usual there are some interesting sketches and images, but I’d like a bit more variety.

img_20161222_201206

2 thoughts on “Spock’s Jellyfish Ship

  1. I think I would have rated it higher; I’m certain there is metal somewhere – perhaps inside to give the model some heft?

    The textured green surface seems very good to me, and is accurate to how it’s portrayed in the movie. I would have added more points to construction and design. It’s always nice to see a ship that doesn’t look like it’s ‘expected’ to look from a human point of view. The properties of conveying red matter around the Cosmos may dictate everything we see on this ship, so we should not be too quick to judge aesthetics.

    However, I agree with the comments regarding the joins on the ‘primary’ hull section. They are glaringly obvious and the lack of detailing there is a letdown. Especially considering the attention to detail on things like the inside of the tail fins, which could easily have been left blank. I was happily surprised to find some attempt at details there, which makes the ends of the primary hull even more jarring.

    For the most part tho, it’s a model I’ve been waiting to see, and it did not disappoint. We all know it could have been much worse. Instead it’s just a little bit off from being a real show-stopper.

  2. I was going to skip this one but glad I did not now. I like it a lot. I have no issue it being all plastic but still would like it to bit more weighty. I think it might have issues with the stand if it was heavier. My Vengeance keeps falling out of the stand due to being front heavy.

    I give it 4 out of 5. I would have liked it to have the weapons on the front above and below the cockpit. Also the blue cockpit would have looked better if it stuck out more.

Leave a Reply

