Collection News: Enterprise J

Hooray! We final get a glimpse of the Enterprise J model, something I’ve been looking forward to for a very long time. No news yet of what the issue number is, but I imagine it’ll be out in the UK some point this year.

entj

Thanks to Ben Robinson for this, who posted it on his twitter feed. I’m hoping we’ll get some more collection updates soon as we have confirmation of exactly what the next eight ships will be only, plus a few future issue-less ones. We know the collection will run to at least 110 models, so still plenty of excitement still to come!

nxmirror

In other news the Mirror NX-01 Enterprise has been on sale for a while at the Eaglemoss shop, something I hope to review in the near future. Also later this year we should expect to see another special edition. No confirmation on what that will be yet, but I have high hopes for something from Star Trek Beyond. The USS Franklin perhaps?

Update:
Ben has posted a pic of the Enterprise J side on. Worth a look.

 

13 thoughts on “Collection News: Enterprise J

  1. Next special is suppose to be Spock’s Jellyfish ship. There are also suppose to be 3 Beyond ships so I am thinking a new Enterprise, USS Franklin and the Swarm ship.

    I haven’t had much luck with the ISS NX, I am about to to get my third one as the original and replacement have both been damaged.

  2. Meh…the Enterprise J doesn’t appeal to me that much. Would like to see ships that saw more action on screen like the Cardassian Keldon Class or special editions of a Jem’Hadar Battleship or the Scimitar. Regardless, looking forward to hearing what the next wave of ships will entail.

  3. Personally I would prefer to see classic trek specials like space dock and k7

    I hate jj verse ships they are not as good

  4. I imagine that if you were to time-travel back to the 1960’s and produce a model of the Enterprise-E, Trek fans of that era would look upon it much like we’re looking now at the Ent-J. That said, it does seem odd that EM would focus on something we’ve only seen on-screen as a mural and a corridor, when there are many ships left that we’ve seen a lot more of still waiting their turn.

    It is an interesting, if fragile-looking design, however.

    Personally, I hope they don’t extend the run again past 110. We have all the major ships, plus variations (armoured, alternate Universe, etc.), and many (many) minor vessels. 110 should be plenty.

  5. The Aeroshuttle is soon, and that was seen even less than the Enterprise J.

    Also, don’t forget that the 110 figure was before the new show was announced. I do hope we get the new ships from that.

  6. I don’t see any great problem with the saucer section or the nacelles of the Discovery. But the ‘pylons’ are horrible! It’s just a big wide triangle. We’ve all read 70+ issues of articles about how ship designs are worked and reworked and reworked again and again. This looks like someone just signed off on a preliminary design without really looking at it. I’m already looking forward to the episode where they retrofit a better design onto this big, wide target.

  7. I just signed my young daughter up for the collection, as she and I have watched the various series together since she was three….we are getting ships out of order and they are omitting the good ones, including the TOS Enterprise and Voyager. About to cancel if they keep sending the b-list ships only. They don’t explain why until you call them and they say that the good ones are out of stock. Suspecting this might be a ploy to get you to buy more before quitting.

  8. Like this guy said:
    “I think the J should be a special issue to empathize it’s scale (2 miles/3.2 km)-(No I do not mean it has to really be 2 miles xD) and the fact it’s the only one of Enterprise. The Bassard collectors should also be light orange rather than yellow:

    https://cdnb1.artstation.com/p/assets/images/images/002/295/089/large/doug-drexler-07-universe-class-ent-j-01.jpg?1459890202

    Another reason a larger scale might be better is because of the thin nacelle struts being so thin making them easier to break on the model. This is just my opinion you don’t have to agree with anything but I thought I’d just add my cents, literally. I mean the J is my favorite ship in Star Trek and I’d definitely be willing to pay for a larger and high-quality model.

    If anyone’s intrested, here is Doug Drexler having an interview on the Enterprise-J.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeB35O3zQ_A Enjoy. 🙂 “

  9. Like this guy said
    “I think the J should be a special issue to empathize it’s scale (2 miles/3.2 km)-(No I do not mean it has to really be 2 miles xD) and the fact it’s the only one of Enterprise. The Bassard collectors should also be light orange rather than yellow:

    https://cdnb1.artstation.com/p/assets/images/images/002/295/089/large/doug-drexler-07-universe-class-ent-j-01.jpg?1459890202

    Another reason a larger scale might be better is because of the thin nacelle struts being so thin making them easier to break on the model. This is just my opinion you don’t have to agree with anything but I thought I’d just add my cents, literally. I mean the J is my favorite ship in Star Trek and I’d definitely be willing to pay for a larger and high-quality model.

    If anyone’s intrested, here is Doug Drexler having an interview on the Enterprise-J.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeB35O3zQ_A Enjoy. 🙂 “

Leave a Reply

