Eaglemoss Models: Enterprise NCC-1701-E

I was surprised to see a huge increase in the number of visitors to the blog this week. Looking at the referral details I discovered Eaglemoss posted a link here on their Facebook official model collection page. Many thanks for the publicity – of course I’ll be awarding five badges to all models from now on! Only joking, but in case anyway didn’t know there is an official Facebook page and occasionally posts advance news of future models and runs competitions to win stuff.

ente_top

I’ve had my Enterprise-E model for a couple of weeks now, but only got round to properly checking it out today. My first thought was that it reminds of me of updated, sleek Excelsior class. It’s certainly closer related in design to the Ent-B than the Ent-D. It’s a return to longer nacelles, raised above the saucer section unlike the Ent-D. Placed next to each other the Ent-D looks dumpy and out-dated, which I suppose it is.

There is tonnes of decorative detail here. The hull is azteced all over, without neglecting the underside. Recent models have had a lack of attention on the underside – not so this one. Individual details are noticeable, such as the Captain’s Yacht on the bottom of saucer section. On the nacelles it reads ‘Starship U.S.S. Enterprise  United Federation Of Planets’. I can’t find any images online that back this up. Can anymore confirm?

ente_under

As usual there is good use of transparent components. The usual blue runs nicely along the top of the nacelles, and a couple of red pieces complete the ram scoops. The same red is used to finish the impulse engines. There is even a tiny deflector dish using an orange transparent piece with is a nice touch. Construction is good – I’m pleased to get a model without too much leaking glue, though there is a little bit in places. Even the underside, where the joins are look great. I think this is because there is so much detail picking up the joins take a little bit more effort.

Looking back at previous reviews I’ve noticed that I’ve given most Starfleet models five out of five badges. Past comments have pointed out I’m not scoring this purely on Eaglemoss’s execution but my own nostalgia and preference for ships designs too. As such going forwards I’ll provide a breakdown of my scores:

  • Detailing: 5/5 (looks of decals and use of coloured pieces)
  • Construction: 4/5 (some leaked glue, but no wonkiness)
  • Faithfulness: 4/5 (very nearly excellent, but odd text on side of nacelles)
  • Ship design: 5/5 (a sleeker, cooler Enterprise)
  • Overall: 5/5 (lots of attention given to a great looking ship)
2 thoughts on “Eaglemoss Models: Enterprise NCC-1701-E

Leave a Reply

